Digital Artefact Take Two: The Resurgence of VR

I always had plans to continue this self-experimentation and low key tutorial series about creating virtual reality in Unity. So now it’s time to officially say I’m back and slide into the world of virtual reality once again.

tumblr_ohhn0goUJc1ttig8go5_500
Source

I learnt a lot from the Jimmy Vegas tutorial series, which I was following from my previous posts, however now I’m upgrading to create something way cooler and way more difficult – the Brooklyn Nine-Nine precinct.

large
Source

I received a piece of valuable advice from one of my tutors at University about creating something that I want to make, and then the rest will follow – hopefully. So because I love Brooklyn Nine-Nine, I decided that my next challenge with creating VR would be to create the beloved precinct, where many iconic scenes of the show take place.

The Plan

vj3yrr3zapdy
Source

Essentially, I’m using the image above as a guide as to how I’m going to create the precinct. For now I plan on only making the fourth floor, this is due to lack of information about what the other three floors look like as they’re not mentioned or shown on the show. Also I’m trying to keep it simple so iconic fans can reminisce, and I can hopefully nail those finer details, such as the clutter on Jake’s desk.

I’m also not following any particular tutorial series at the moment, I’m trying to be as experimental as I can, and by that I mean trying to figure out how to create it on my own. That isn’t to say I won’t be following one, I’m still not entirely sure how to create furniture and so forth but when the time arises I’ll be sure to link it and share it as much as possible so other people such as yourself may use this resource.

The end goal essentially is to be able to create the whole precinct, furniture and all, however I have no strict posting time or period because my schedule is so sporadic so for now I’m trying to post as much as I can when I have the time. I also hope to buy a cheap sort of headset and somehow link it to my VR model of the precinct, so that I can actually walk around my creation.

How To Stay Up To Date With My Process

I’ll be posting a lot of my content on Youtube, which you can check out on my channel here. This is mostly due to trying to reach a wider audience, and also because this is a very visual project, I want to make the most out of the different visual mediums available to me.

I’m hoping to create time lapses, and also a tutorial series, most likely a combination of both. Why? This process for me is very experimental; I don’t like being constrained, especially with my own projects, so creating this for me is basically just a fun challenge to use the skills I’ve acquired with Unity to make certain structures. Also, not all of you will want to create anything with Unity or in VR and that’s okay, by including certain parts of the process as a time-lapse I’m hoping to broaden my audience to those who just enjoy watching aesthetically pleasing things. However, I’ll explain things as I go, for other beginners in the hopes that they might learn something from me.

I’ll also be posting on this blog my overall process through screenshots, and also posting the links to both my Youtube videos and my blog posts on Reddit.

Here’s the links to these once again for some clarification:

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwjtFJ1lvjGoZuOWqUW8PVQ?view_as=subscriber
Blog: https://tanaearmstrong.wordpress.com/category/digital-artefact-2-0/

I should also mention that for easier access I’ve made a Youtube playlist titled Creating VR – The B99 Precinct Seriesin order to link all my videos together and save the frantic searching for follow up videos, which annoys me to no end.

So that’s basically it for now, my first post about creating the precinct will be posted soon on here and on Youtube, and I hope that this has given you a basic rundown of what to expect and that you keep updated with my process.

Leave a comment